Music Composed and Conducted by LAURENT EYQUEM

Coinciding with the show’s premiere in Germany on September 11, 2018, MovieScore Media goes back in time with the sweeping historical miniseries Clash of Futures, exploring the dramatic era of the 1920s and ’30s. The eight-part series follows the fates of extraordinary men, women and children from France, Germany, Italy, Great Britain, Austria, Sweden, Poland and the Soviet Union using their own diary entries, letters and memoirs. These are people drawn into the war by their convictions, who with their loves and decisions bring the history of Europe with all its contradictions to life. A big pan-European co-production, the series will air shortly in all major territories in Europe.

”For Clash of Futures, the music needed to carry us across 21 years of rich history in Europe, from 1918 to 1939” explains Laurent Eyquem. “To cover and link this dense and fascinating historical period, director Jan Peter and I chose one symbolic instrument to be the common thread: the trumpet. From the haunting sound of the Harmon Cup Trumpet to the solemn voice of the classic trumpet, it’s soulful sound takes us on a journey from the emergence of jazz in Europe at the end of World War I, to the ascendance of Nazism and Fascism, through to the military marches in 1939. Throughout, the common thematic thread in this score is the perpetual, vacillating uncertainty of this period in history, reflected in an omnipresent dissonance that floats, discernibly, just below the surface.”

The score was recorded with the Berlin Film Symphonic Orchestra in the legendary Babelsberg Studio and the choir, heard in the final piece of the album, was recorded in Prague.

Born in Bordeaux, Laurent Eyquem’s first musical mentor was his father who played the clarinet in the local orchestra. Unfortunately, Laurent’s career was jeopardized by a near fatal accident that almost cost him his right arm. Following a successful therapy, he emerged as one of the most impressive talents in the international film music scene. Eyquem’s 2013 scores for Copperhead and Winnie Mandela garnered multiple nominations from around the world, including three nods from the IFMCA (Breakthrough Composer of the Year; Best Original Score for a Drama Film; Composer of the Year), and the Discovery of the Year nomination from the World Soundtrack Academy. Just this week, he received 2 nominations for his soundtrack of Nostalgia at the World Soundtrack Awards, for both the Public Choice Award and Discovery of the Year categories.

MMS18016 • 
Release date (digital): September 14, 2018
Release date (CD): September/October 2018 (Quartet Records)


1 Clash of Futures 0:59
2 Transitions 3:05
3 Uncertain Hope 3:00
4 Uncertain Times 3:08
5 Perpetual Movement 3:15
6 Brooding 3:03
7 Freedom 3:08
8 Armistice and Alive 2:34
9 Doubts 3:49
10 Thoughts 3:12
11 Disillusioned 3:17
12 The Unfolding 5:32
13 Unpredictable Life 3:46
14 After Dark 5:02
15 A Walk in the Past 2:43
16 Unstoppable Times and A Spy on the Train 6:25
17 Berlin 1:11
18 Another World 2:25
19 Ho Chi Minh 2:20
20 Uncertain Future 2:18