Original Music by Composer Fil Eisler
Lakeshore Records to Release the CHIPS – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Available Digitally On March 31st. The album features the film’s original score composed by Fil Eisler (EmpireRevengeHow to Be SingleShamelessUnReal)
Dax Shepard (Hit & Run, TV’s Parenthood) and Michael Peña (Ant-Man) star in the action comedy CHIPS, directed by Shepard from his own script.
Jon Baker (Shepard) and Frank Ponch Poncherello (Peña) have just joined the California Highway Patrol (CHP) in Los Angeles, but for very different reasons. Baker is a beaten-up former pro motorbiker trying to put his life and marriage back together. Poncherello is a cocky undercover Federal agent investigating a multi-million dollar heist that may be an inside job—inside the CHP.
The inexperienced rookie and the hardened pro are teamed together, but clash more than click, so kick-starting a real partnership is easier said than done. But with Baker’s unique bike skills and Ponch’s street savvy it might just work…if they don’t drive each other crazy first.
CHIPS also stars Rosa Salazar (Insurgent), Adam Brody (Think Like a Man Too), Kristen Bell (Bad Moms), and Vincent D’Onofrio (Jurassic World).
Fil Eisler is one of the most diverse composers of the moment, with projects that range from big studio action pieces and comedies, to gripping dramas for independent film and hit television shows. Upcoming for Fil is Warner Bros.’ hilarious film reboot of the fan-favorite series, “CHIPS,” starring Dax ShepardMichael Peña and Kristen Bell, which premieres March 24th. Fil also recently composed the music for the Sundance Film Festival Dramatic Grand Jury prize-nominee, “To the Bone,” starring Keanu Reeves and Lily Collins, which was acquired by Netflix, and was one of the festival’s top selling films.
Fil’s inventive scores and signature themes enliven some of TV’s most popular series and notable films. He composes for Fox’s Golden Globe-nominated drama series “Empire,” where his classically oriented cues provide a powerful contrast to the show’s hip-hop soundtrack, as well as Lifetime’s Peabody-winning series “UnReal,” Bravo’s hit comedy drama series “Girlfriends’ Guide To Divorce,” and Showtime‘s Emmy-winning “Shameless.” Fil was also both the composer and conductor for ABC’s breakout hit drama “Revenge.”
Eisler has recently composed music for such varied films as MGM and New Line Cinemas’ People’s Choice Awards-nominated “How To Be Single,” starring Dakota Johnson and Rebel Wilson, and Sundance 2016’s poignant documentary, “Newtown.” He composed the main title theme and acted as co composer and music director for the documentary, organizing and leading an all-star line-up of over a dozen Hollywood composers, who each donated a piece of music for the film.
In 2008, Fil was among a select group of up-and-coming composers invited to the Sundance Film Composer’s Lab, and in the years since his projects have garnered critical acclaim on the film festival circuit and beyond. As part of his ongoing commitment to independent film, he returned to Sundance in 2011 with the Inupiaq-themed thriller “On the Ice,” scored the Sundance-backed documentary “Whatever It Takes” and Jonathan van Tulleken‘s BAFTA-nominated horror thriller “Off Season.” Fil won the Best Film Score Award for his work on Robbie Pickering‘s “Natural Selection” at the 2011 SXSW Film Festival. The film was the most decorated of the festival, also winning the Grand Jury and Audience Awards. He continued his work with Pickering on the 2015 Sony feature “Freaks of Nature.”
Fil, a Czech-born, English-raised composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist, has worked with ensembles of all shapes and sizes to help bring his scores to life. Variety described his music as “smoky, elaborate film noir-inspired compositions”, while Beatweek Magazine praised him for making “beautiful music” that “…almost acts as another character further enveloping the audience in its grasp.” Eisler has been nominee and recipient of numerous awards including the World Soundtrack Awards New Discovery, SXSW Best Soundtrack Award and multiple BMI awards.
Upcoming projects include sci fi thriller “The Titan” starring Sam Worthington, Tom Wilkinson and Taylor Schilling and New Line Pictures’ comedy Life Of The Party starring Melissa McCarthy.
1. Opening Titles (CHIPS Theme)
2. Jon And Ponch
3. Five Dirty Cops (AKA The Bad Guy Theme)
4. Highway Robbery
5. Ponch Arrives
6. Bromance Pt 1
7. Seven Mary Three In Pursuit
8. The Armored Car Heist
9. Reed Jnr / Ray’s Theme
10. Fairground Chase
11. Random Metal Outburst
12. That’s Weird
13. Ray Prepares For War
14. Disappearing Act
15. The Drug House Raid
16. Widow’s Fund
17. Trailer Trashed
18. Ray’s Hideaway
19. Life Support
20. Twelve Million
21. Random Blues Interjection
22. You’re Old As Fuck
23. Over The Wall
24. An Eye For An Eye
25. Man Up Jon
26. Help Me Up
27. Terminator Arm / Bromance Pt2
28. Jon And Ava Love Theme
29. End Titles (CHIPS Theme)