Featuring Original Score By Michael Brook

Lakeshore Records will release the BROOKLYN – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally and on CD November 6, 2015. The album features the film’s original score by Michael Brook (THE FIGHTER, INTO THE WILD).

“The director John Crowley slightly laid down a gauntlet by saying that he wanted to have a score that heightened emotion, but never lead things by telling the audience what to feel, and he was very keen to avoid anything that had the slightest whiff of cheese,” said Brook. “Finding this extremely delicate balance was a big part of the interaction that I had with John.”

BROOKLYN tells the profoundly moving story of Eilis Lacey (Saoirse Ronan), a young Irish immigrant navigating her way through 1950s Brooklyn. Lured by the promise of America, Eilis departs Ireland and the comfort of her mother’s home for the shores of New York City. The initial shackles of homesickness quickly diminish as a fresh romance sweeps Eilis into the intoxicating charm of love. But soon, her new vivacity is disrupted by her past, and Eilis must choose between two countries and the lives that exist within.

“A key scene involving the music was Eilish going to the beach in Ireland as the pull of returning home kicks in, and her dilemma begins,” described Brook. “There’s a kind of a slightly ecstatic aspect to the scene, that has her new found appreciation of her homeland conflicting with the new life that she has started in America.”

Michael Brook is a Canadian, Golden Globe® and Grammy® nominated composer, producer and recording artist recognized for his unique style of composition that traverses ambient, world, Americana, electronic and orchestral territories. His work often contains unusual combinations of instruments, sounds and moods that create a powerful, unique and emotional impact.

His music career began as a recording artist, guitar player, producer and collaborator, working with artists such as Brian Eno, David Sylvian, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, The Pogues, Jane Siberry on ground breaking labels such as 4AD and Peter Gabriel’s Real World Records.

As his music began to be licensed in films such as HEAT and ANY GIVEN SUNDAY, he developed an interest in composing for film and moved to Los Angeles from the UK in 1999. Among the notable films that he has scored are THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, THE FIGHTER, INTO THE WILD, CHAVEZ, AN INCONVENIENT TRUTH and the Oscar winning documentary UNDEFEATED.

“I don’t really score a single scene first,” Brook described. “I like to experiment and sketch for a while and find that themes and ideas gradually emerge out of the slight fog of that process. When I have a few ideas that are presentable then I’ll go to the director.”

FOX SEARCHLIGHT PICTURES presents BROOKLYN in theaters November 6, 2015. Lakeshore Records will release the BROOKLYN – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally and on CD November 6, 2015


1. Opening Titles
2. Packing For The Voyage
3. Seasick
4. Deck Discussion
5. Arriving In America
6. Eilis Starts Work
7. Homesick
8. Letter From Home
9. Bookkeeping Class
10. Casadh An Tsúgáin / Frankie’s Song – Iarla Ó Lionáird
11. Tony Asks Eilis Out
12. Letter To Home
13. Things Are Looking Up
14. Rose Dies
15. Mourning
16. Proposal
17. Getting Married
18. Rose’s Grave
19. The Pull Of Home
20. Tony’s Letter
21. Eilis Wavers
22. Confrontation
23. Goodbye Eilis
24. End Credits