Battlefield 2042 Official Soundtrack is now available to stream on Spotify from Lakeshore Records, co-composed by two-time Grammy Award, Academy Award, Golden Globe, Emmy, and BAFTA Award-winning composer Hildur Guðnadóttir (JokerChernobyl) and two-time Grammy Award-winning music producer and composer Sam Slater (score producer JokerChernobyl). Worldwide digital release of the album will be via Lakeshore Records on September 20. Lakeshore Records and Invada Records will co-release the vinyl edition at a later date (TBD). “We are thrilled to be writing our first video game score for Battlefield 2042, and teaming with Electronic Arts,” says Hildur Gudnadóttir and Sam Slater. “It was such a deeply creative experience to dive into this world and create a truly unique and disruptive musical environment for the game.” Battlefield 2042 is a groundbreaking first-person shooter set to revolutionize the modern multiplayer sandbox. Powered by cutting-edge technology that pushes the capabilities of next generation hardware, the game drops players into a near-future, all-out-war experience. Featuring matches filled with up to 128 players on the latest consoles* and PCs, this unprecedented scale adds a new dimension to multiplayer battles. Battlefield 2042 also ups the action with the inclusion of real-time events that reshape the battlefield and tactical combat. All-new weapons, vehicles, and gadgets give players the freedom to be strategic and create jaw-dropping, only-in-Battlefield moments. The biggest, most ambitious title in the franchise, Battlefield 2042 offers a depth of multiplayer across three distinct experiences:

  • All-Out Warfare – The next generation of fan-favorite modes Conquest and Breakthrough. Experience the intensity of All-Out Warfare in large-scale battles like never before on maps filled with dynamic weather, dangerous environmental hazards, and spectacular world events that see tornadoes rip across the map and sandstorms block out the sun.
  • Battlefield Portal – An all-new community-driven experience that gives players the power to discover, create and share unexpected battles from Battlefield 2042, and reimagined classics from Battlefield 1942, Battlefield Bad Company 2 and Battlefield 3
  • Battlefield Hazard Zone – An all-new, high-stakes, squad-based game-type for the Battlefield franchise that is a modern take on the multiplayer experience that is distinctly DICE but very different from All-Out Warfare’s Conquest or Breakthrough modes.


 Hildur Gudnadóttir is an Academy Award-, Golden Globe-, Emmy-, two-time Grammy-, and BAFTA-winning Icelandic artist, who has been manifesting herself at the forefront of experimental pop and contemporary music. In her solo works, she draws out a broad spectrum of sounds from her instrumentation, ranging from intimate simplicity to huge soundscapes. Her work for film and television includes “Sicario: Day of the Soldado,” “Mary Magdalene,” and the critically acclaimed HBO series “Chernobyl,” for which she won a Primetime Emmy Award, as well as a BAFTA and Grammy Award. Gudnadóttir received a multitude of accolades for her work on the “Joker,” directed by Todd Phillips and starring Joaquin Phoenix, including an Academy Award, Golden Globe, BAFTA and Grammy. In addition, her body of work includes scores for films such as “Tom of Finland,” “Journey’s End” and 20 episodes of the Icelandic TV series “Trapped,” streaming on Amazon Prime. Gudnadóttir began playing cello as a child, entered the Reykjavík Music Academy and then moved on to musical studies/composition and new media at the Iceland Academy of the Arts and Universität der Künste Berlin. She has released four critically acclaimed solo albums: Mount A (2006), Without Sinking (2009), LeyfðuLjósinu (2012) and Saman (2014). Her records have been nominated a number of times for the Icelandic Music Awards. Her albums are all released on Touch. She has composed music for theatre, dance performances and films. The Icelandic Symphony Orchestra, Icelandic National Theatre, Tate Modern, The British Film Institute, The Royal Swedish Opera in Stockholm and Gothenburg National Theatre are amongst the institutions that have commissioned new works from her. Currently she is curating an exhibit for the opening of the new Academy Museum in Los Angeles, set to open on September 28.  Gudnadóttir has performed live and recorded music with Skúli Sverrisson, Jóhann Jóhannsson, múm, Sunn O))), Pan Sonic, Hauschka, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Sylvian, The Knife, Fever Ray and Throbbing Gristle, among others.  Gudnadóttir lives in Berlin, Germany. 


Two-time Grammy Award-winning composer, sound designer and music producer Sam Slater is known for his roles as both score producer and musical sound designer for Joker and Chernobyl. In addition to his two Grammy Award wins for Joker and Chernobyl, he has also won an Icelandic Music Award as “Producer of the Year” and a MASA Award for “Best Sound Design in Television Program”. As a composer, in 2020 he scored Guerilla, a feature film about freedom fighters in Myanmar directed by Anyrin Bowyn, as well as The River Between Us, a documentary feature on uncontacted Peruvian tribes. He also composed the score for I Am Not A Monster, a BBC / PBS Podcast telling the story of an American mother who brought her son to live in war-torn Syria. The podcast won several awards and was noted for its complex and weighty sound world. Slater began producing records in his teens and studied Experimental Composition at Leeds University before moving to Germany to begin his professional career. He got his start working as Johann Johannsson’s principal musical sound designer and creative engineer, collaborating on several projects. He frequently collaborates with Academy Award- winning composer Hildur Gudnadóttir and in 2019, he engineered a live touring performance of the Chernobyl score for a bespoke, immersive sound system inside an abandoned telephone factory in Krakow, Poland. The show will continue to tour worldwide in 2022. Additionally, he released a solo record on Iceland’s acclaimed Bedroom Community and produced, recorded, and mixed a multitude of records, including work from composers Colin Stetson, Ben Frost, Valgeir Sigurðsson, Yair Glotman and Mica Levi. His follow up solo album will be released in 2022 on Bedroom Community. Slater originally hails from Southwest England and has been based in Berlin, Germany since 2013. 

Pre-purchase or stream


  1. Orbital
  2. The Observation of Beautiful Forms
  3. Irreversible
  4. Between the Bows
  5. Wall Jazz
  6. Load Bearing
  7. When does a country stop being a country?
  8. 5 Degrees of Warming
  9. Hauled Over the Coals
  10. Wet Bulb
  11. Hourglass
  12. Shipping Forecast
  13. Tipping Points
  14. Battlefield 2042