Featuring Original Music By Ian Hultquist
And Songs Including The Original Track “Hard To Say” by Barky and Speaker

Lakeshore Records will release the ANIMALS – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on May 12 and on CD August 14, 2015.  The album features the film’s original score by Ian Hultquist (THE DIABOLICAL, formerly of the band Passion Pit) and songs by bands including Pyramids, The Pentagons, and The Life and Times.  Also featured on the album is the original track “Hard To Say” by Barky and Speaker.  ANIMALS will be in theaters on May 15, 2015.

“Collin Schiffli [director], David Dastmalchian [screenwriter/lead actor], and I spent almost a year talking about ideas for the score, before they had even started shooting,” said Hultquist. “From our very first meeting together, we all agreed that we wanted the score to be a significant part of telling Bobbie and Jude’s story.”

“Between the first script draft in ‘06 and the final cut of the film in ‘14, music was one of the most prolific inspirations in the creation of ANIMALS,” said Dastmalchian.  “I’m thrilled that you will be able to listen here to both the music that inspired the film and the music inspired by the film.  My good friend and collaborator, Ian Hultquist, has composed an amazing original score that evokes the pulse of Chicago and the intense emotions of Jude and Bobbie.”

ANIMALS is about Bobbie and Jude who are a young couple living in their broken-down car parked alongside Chicago’s Lincoln Park Zoo. Their days are a continuous ritual of theft and scoring until they must confront the difficult truth of their relationship after one of them is hospitalized.

“This is a love story, and the music had to uphold that relationship,” Hultquist described.  “On top of that though, the music had to shift between helping the characters escape out of their reality, while being able to immediately pull them back down into the grime again.”

Born in San Diego, raised in Chicago, Ian Hultquist developed an intense passion for music & film from a young age. He pursued this interest by attending Berklee College of Music in Boston, from which he received a degree in Film Scoring and Composition.  A founding member of the indie bands Passion Pit & Aislyn, Hultquist continues to write music for film, commercials, and other musical projects either from on the road or from his home studio in Los Angeles, CA.  His film projects include THE DIABOLICAL, which premiered at SXSW in March and the documentary THOUGHT CRIMES, which debuted at Tribeca Film Festival in April.

“There are a few different themes that are prominent throughout the film,” Hultquist explained. “We have those few dark scenes that really show the couple hitting bottom. We have the beautiful, shimmery pieces that reflect their escapism. But, most importantly, we have their love theme: The Ballad of Bobbie & Jude. This is the fingerpicked guitar piece that is hinted at a few times throughout the film. We never let the audience hear the full piece until the very end, or until we’ve come to a full realization of their relationship.”

Oscilloscope Laboratories presents ANIMALS in select theaters beginning May 15, 2015.  The ANIMALS – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available digitally on May 12 and on CD on August 14, 2015.


01. Lions – Ian Hultquist
02. The Zoo – Ian Hultquist
03. Make Believe – Ian Hultquist
04. Window Watching – Ian Hultquist
05. Hair Dye – Ian Hultquist
06. Just Get Through This – Ian Hultquist
07. Withdrawal – Ian Hultquist
08. The Pool – Ian Hultquist
09. The Ballad of Bobbie & Jude – Ian Hultquist
10. Bliss – Ian Hultquist
11. Your Good Lovin’ – The Pentagons
12. Forget – Moon Magick
13. Bejeweled – Wedding Dress
14. Cowboy Song – Luke Redfield
15. Joy Boy – Gay Panic
16. Everything Leads Back To You – Pyyramids
17. Spinning in the Beauty of it All – Charles
18. Day One – The Life and Times
19. Hard To Say – Barky & Speaker