GHENT, 12 September 2018. After revealing the nominees for Best Film Composer, TV Composer and Song, the World Soundtrack Academy announces a second wave of nominees for Best Original Score for a Belgian production, Discovery of the Year, SABAM Award for best Young International Composer and the Public Choice Award. Remarkable is that the nominees for the Discovery of the Year Award are outweighed in female composers, which is unprecedented at the WSAwards

For the third time in a row, the award for Best Original Score for a Belgian Production will be presented on October 17th. The three nominees are Valentin Hadjadjwho provided the film music for Film Fest Gent’s opening film ‘Girl’, Raf Keunen who wrote the score for ‘Le Fidèle’, and Dutch composer Rutgers Reinders who worked on 2017 Film Fest Gent winner ‘Zagros’. Last year’s award went to Jef Neve’s score for ‘Speechless’.

Young, international and talented composers are given a spot in the limelight with the Discovery of the Year Award. In addition to the award, the winner receives the opportunity to perform on stage at the next edition of the WSAwards. The nominees are Valentin Hadjadj, Laurent Eyquem, Tamar-kali, Amelia Warner en Hildur Guðnadóttir.

Within the SABAM Award For Best Young International Composers, the contesters received a task to compose music for Isao Takahata’s animated film ‘Grave of the Fireflies’. The nominees of 2018 are the American composer Logan Nelson, the Irishman Stefan Frenchand the Portuguese Bruno Ferreira.This award’s jury is led by music director of Film Fest Gent Dirk Brossé,artistic director Patrick Duynslaegher, composer Michel Herr, managing director of SABAM Hans Helewaut, VFX Supervisor & Post production Advisor with ACE Image Factory Stefan Rycken and film director Caroline Strubbe. 

The Public Choice Award will be announced on the 18th World Soundtrack Awards on the 17th of October at Capitole in Ghent. The score with the most votes, picked from a selection of five nominees, will receive a prestigious prize.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Philippe Sarde. The Award ceremony will conclude with a concert performed by Brussels Philharmonic playing the oeuvre of Cater BurwellNicholas Britell, winner of the Discovery of the Year Award 2017 for his outstanding work for Barry Jenkins’ ‘Moonlight’, will close the ceremony with an exclusive performance.


Best Original Score for a Belgian Production
‘Girl’ by Valentin Hadjadj
‘Le Fidèle’ by Raf Keunen
‘Zagros’ by Rutger Reinders

Discovery of the Year 2018
Laurent Eyquem for ‘Nostalgia’
Hildur Guðnadóttir for ‘Sicario: Day of the Soldado’
Valentin Hadjadj for ‘Girl’
Tamar-kali for ‘Mudbound’
Amelia Warner for ‘Mary Shelley’

SABAM Award For Best Young International Composer
Bruno Ferreira
Stefan French
Logan Nelson

Public Choice Award
by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis
‘Lean on Pete’ by James Edward Barker
‘Nostalgia’ by Laurent Eyquem
‘Ploey – You Never Fly Alone’ by Atli Örvarsson
‘Solo: A Star Wars Story’ by John Powell

The World Soundtrack Awards has been supporting film music, sound design and composers for over 18 years and television music since 2016. The membership of the WSAcademy consists of a group of 183 film (music) professionals responsible for appointing the nominees for the annual World Soundtrack Awards.

7 Oct – World Soundtrack Awards – tickets
18 Oct – 2001 and Beyond: A Symphonic Odyssey – tickets

Follow the World Soundtrack Awards playlist on Spotify!
Like, share & tag away with #WSAwards #FFGent