Featuring Original Music By Marco Beltrami 

Varèse Sarabande Records will release THE HOMESMAN – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on November 17 and on CD December 9, 2014. The soundtrack features the original score composed by Marco Beltrami (SNOWPIERCER, WORLD WAR Z).

“This is the 3rd movie we’ve done together,” said director Tommy Lee Jones of composer Beltrami.  “He’s different, that’s what he brings.  He’s original.”

This originality stretches to their work on THE HOMESMAN.  While most composers record their music inside a studio in pristine conditions, Beltrami went outdoors – recording the music on the mountains of Malibu, CA.  “It was very air, thread bare existence.  Musically I was discussing with Buck [Sanders] how we might achieve some of this,” said Beltrami.  “We picked a day that the wind was fairly minimal in the morning and we just went right at it.”

Award-winning composer Marco Beltrami established an early reputation as a genre innovator with non-traditional horror scores for the SCREAM franchise and DON’T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK. Beltrami’s musical palette has since expanded to virtually all film genres.Beltrami has received two Academy Award nominations for Best Score. First, for 3:10 TO YUMA, starring Russell Crowe and Christian Bale, and shortly after for his score to the Academy award winning film for Best Picture, THE HURT LOCKER. Beltrami received a Golden Satellite Award in 2011 for Best Film Score of The Year for SOUL SURFER.

His recent projects include SNOWPIERCER, THE NOVEMBER MAN, THE GIVER, THE WOLVERINE, TROUBLE WITH THE CURVE, THE SESSIONS, A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD, and WARM BODIES. Beltrami has lent his musical voice to such unique hit films AS LIVE FREE OR DIE HARD, TERMINATOR 3: RISE OF THE MACHINES, and I, ROBOT. Other scoring credits include THE WOMAN IN BLACK, THE THING, and DEADFALL. Most recently, Beltrami created the nail-biting score to WORLD WAR Z and the AMC spy thriller TURN.

THE HOMESMAN marks the third collaboration between Beltrami and Jones, who have also worked together on SUNSET LIMITED and THE THREE BURIALS OF MELQUIADES ESTRADA. When three women living on the edge of the American frontier are driven mad by harsh pioneer life, the task of saving them falls to the pious, independent-minded Mary Bee Cuddy (Hilary Swank). Transporting the women by covered wagon to Iowa, she soon realizes just how daunting the journey will be, and employs a low-life drifter, George Briggs (Tommy Lee Jones), to join her. The unlikely pair and the three women (Grace Gummer, Miranda Otto, Sonja Richter) head east, where a waiting minister and his wife (Meryl Streep) have offered to take the women in. But the group first must traverse the harsh Nebraska Territories marked by stark beauty, psychological peril and constant threat.

Roadside Attractions presents THE HOMESMAN, in select theaters on November 14, 2014.   THE HOMESMAN – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack from Varèse Sarabande Records will be available digitally on November 17 and on CD December 9, 2014.



1. The Homesman Main Title (3:52)
2. On The Plains (1:35)
3. Newborn (1:31)
4. Picking Up Arrabella Sours (1:33)
5. Sod Buster (1:32)
6. Bathtime (2:53)
7. Pawnee (2:13)
8. Bury Doll (1:55)
9. River Crossing (2:52)
10. Leaving Home Flashback (1:06)
11. Are You Crazy? (1:46)
12. Travel Montage (0:46)
13. It’s Abandoned (1:53)
14. Cuddy Lost (3:13)
15. Where’s Cuddy? (1:35)
16. I’ll Be Back Directly (3:03)
17. Entering Town (2:21)
18. Briggs Moves On (2:00)
19. Onto The Ferry (2:10)
20. The Homesman End Credits (3:18)
21. Wind Haiku (2:27)