Original Music Composed By Abel Korzeniowski

Varèse Sarabande will release a 2-disc set of the PENNY DREADFUL Season 2 & 3 – Original Television Soundtrack both digitally and on CD on December 16, 2016. The album features original music composed by Abel Korzeniowski (W.E., A SINGLE MAN).

“This album completes our journey to the Demimonde. Witches and Dracula face Vanessa and her companions in the impossible battle between light and darkness. All musical themes of PENNY DREADFUL find their final form and conclusion,” Korzeniowski stated. “Writing music for PENNY DREADFUL was a fascinating adventure, one of finding unexpected beauty in the shadows of human experience.”

PENNY DREADFUL is a series from SHOWTIME Television featuring some of literature’s most terrifying characters, including Dr. Frankenstein, Dorian Gray, and iconic figures from the novel Dracula are lurking in the darkest corners of Victorian London. PENNY DREADFUL is a frightening psychological thriller that weaves together these classic horror origin stories into a new adult drama. The PENNY DREADFUL cast included actors Josh Hartnett, Timothy Dalton, and Eva Green.  The third and final season aired earlier this year.

Golden Globe and EMMY-nominated composer Abel Korzeniowski’s work in film music places him in a small group of composers destined to define the future of the art form. His most recent film, Tom Ford’s NOCTURNAL ANIMALS,” starring Amy Adams and Jake Gyllenhaal, has been gaining high praise at both the Venice Film Festival and Toronto International Film Festival.  Abel’s score has also been getting a lot of attention, with The Hollywood Reporter saying, “The tempestuous strings of Abel Korzeniowski’s lush score provide an additional ballsy flourish, explicitly nodding to Hitchcock and Sirk.”

This is the second collaboration between Ford and Korzeniowski.  They also worked together on Ford’s first film, A SINGLE MAN, starring Colin Firth and Julianne Moore.  Abel’s stirring score earned him a Golden Globe nomination, as well as the attention of Madonna, who chose him to score the film, W.E., for which he received his second Golden Globe nomination.  Described as stylish and bittersweet, the score for W.E. brilliantly reflects the glamorous romance between Wallis Simpson and The Duke of Windsor.  Evgeni’s Waltz, a piano piece from W.E. became the basis of a new version of Madonna’s hit Like a Virgin, performed during her 2012 MDNA world tour.  In addition, Abel has won three World Soundtrack Awards, as well as the 2013 International Film Music Critics Association Composer of the Year Award for his work on ROMEO & JULIET” and ESCAPE FROM TOMORROW.  Abel also received several accolades for his work on PENNY DREADFUL.  In addition to his BAFTA win, he received his third Emmy nomination for his work on the show this year.
In addition to his film scoring work, Korzeniowski has created musical identities for some of the world’s most prestigious brands, including BMW-i Electric Vehicles and Tiffany & Co.  His music has also been featured on the runways of major fashion designers around the world, including Tom Ford, Gucci, Ralph Lauren, Boss, Carolina Herrera, and Alberta Ferretti.

Born in Krakow, Poland, Korzeniowski studied classical composition under the world-renowned composer Krzysztof Penderecki. In 2006, he moved to Los Angeles. He currently resides in the Hollywood Hills.

SHOWTIME Television presents PENNY DREADFUL – all seasons are currently available on demand. The PENNY DREADFUL Seasons 2 & 3 – Original Television Soundtrack from Varèse Sarabande Records will be available digitally and on CD on December 16, 2016.


Disc 1 – Season 2

1. The Unquiet Grave (1:25)
2. Memento Mori (3:53)
3. Verbis Diablo (1:50)
4. Poison (5:51)
5. We Are Dangerous (2:19)
6. Vanessa’s Dream (2:46)
7. Ethan’s Waltz (1:26)
8. Until The Storm’s Past (1:57)
9. The Cutwife of Ballentree Moor (3:41)
10. Joan Clayton (4:00)
11. Killing Sir Geoffrey Hawkes (2:59)
12. Dolls Have Hearts (4:44)
13. Melting Waltz (3:23)
14. Little Deceptions (0:58)
15. Gossamer Tennis (1:18)
16. House Of Wax (1:58)
17. Weapon. Ritual. Superstition. (2:11)
18. Ghost Waltz (2:51)
19. Breaking The Spell (1:18)
20. Wallpapers (4:47)
21. Entering The Castle (2:26)
22. Coffins (2:25)
23. Know Your Master (6:04)
24. Little Scorpion (1:17)
25. Be True (3:57)

Disc 2 – Season 3:

1. The Master (2:44)
2. New Mexico (4:25)
3. Las Cruces (2:27)
4. Dr. Jekyll (2:26)
5. Madness (2:53)
6. Nocturnal Danger (2:10)
7. False Mirrors (2:14)
8. Guardian Angels (3:16)
9. Common Red Fox (3:03)
10. We Butcher Them (2:01)
11. Us And Our Kin (1:46)
12. Rejection (2:34)
13. Ethan Kills (3:33)
14. White Room (2:57)
15. One Day Soon (1:11)
16. Revelation (6:04)
17. House Of The Night Creatures (4:17)
18. Such Is Our Power, Such Is Our Kingdom (2:41)
19. All Light Will End (2:50)
20. Werewolves (2:14)
21. Let It End (6:43)
22. Boat to Africa (4:41)

Season 1 Bonus Track:
23. Explorer’s Club (2:54)