Featuring Original Music By Lyle Workman

Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack for the Netflix original series LOVE digitally on February 19th and on CD later this year.  The album features original music by Lyle Workman (STAND UP GUYS, THE 40-YEAR-OLD VIRGIN).

LOVE follows nice guy Gus (Paul Rust) and brazen wild-child Mickey (Gillian Jacobs) as they navigate the exhilarations and humiliations of intimacy, commitment, love and other things they were hoping to avoid. Love is an unflinching, hilarious and excruciatingly honest take on modern relationships. LOVE is created, written and executive produced by Judd Apatow, Paul Rust and Lesley Arfin.

“At the beginning, Judd left me to my own musical impulses, which initially led me along a modern electronic direction,” said Workman. “Other than yielding the main title theme, the sound of the show on the whole was still to be discovered. I had to find a sonic template that would be dynamic and versatile enough to service a broader emotional range. Ultimately, what felt well married to the characters and their environment was a hybrid of early Chicano rock and traditional Mexican folk styles, such as Son Jarocho. I composed using the stringed instruments jarana and requinto, and by adding Latin percussion, accordion, harp, and horns, the blend had a nice effect, also helping root the series to the backdrop of Los Angeles in which it’s set.”

Lyle Workman picked up the guitar at age eight and has never looked back. After his father showed him some basic chords, Workman furthered his abilities by teaching himself songs from bands that included The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, and The Who. In 1996, the Northern California native moved to Los Angeles and in the coming years, enjoyed success as a session and touring musician, working with a diverse range of artists including Beck, Sting, Ziggy Marley, Alanis Morissette, Michael Buble, Frank Black, Sarah McLachlan, Norah Jones, Bryan Adams and many more.

His first opportunity to score a film came from Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughn, for their crime comedy MADE Workman’s score on that film, along with the strength of his impressive body of recorded work, led to him to write additional music for the Will Ferrell comedy KICKING AND SCREAMING. One of that film’s producers was Judd Apatow, who asked Workman to score his directorial debut, THE 40-YEAR-OLD VIRGIN.

This collaboration with Apatow led to a run of successful comedies, including SUPERBAD, FORGETTING SARAH MARSHALL, GET HIM TO THE GREEK and now the Netflix series LOVE. Workman has continued to score comedies like YES MAN, starring Jim Carrey, and the Steve Carell farce, THE INCREDIBLE BURT WONDERSTONE, as well as dramatic character pieces, like WIN WIN, for Oscar-nominated director Tom McCarthy.

All 10 episodes of the Netflix original series LOVE will launch on February 19, 2016, exclusively on Netflix. The soundtrack for LOVE will be available digitally on February 19 and on CD shortly thereafter.


1. Love
2. Don’t Be a Hero
3. Good Crazy
4. It’s Over
5. Runaway Grandpa
6. Gus
7. Sonrisa
8. You Are Not Alone
9. Avenue of Lovers
10. Fanarlito’s Way
11. Heartsick
12. Blu-Ray Guy
13. Loyalty
14. Hosing Off
15. Chupacabra
16. Ebola Bugs
17. Shelter
18. Mickey’s Boredom
19. Echo Park
20. No Response
21. Reset
22. Spinning Out
23. What If I Do Amazing?
24. We’re Not Dead Yet
25. Long Love