Music by Composer Atli Örvarsson

Lakeshore Records will release a soundtrack album for the animated feature Bilal: A New Breed of Hero!. The album features the film’s original music composed by Atli Orvarsson (Hansel  & Gretel: Witch Hunters, Vantage PointRamsThe Edge of SeventeenThe Eagle) who recorded his orchestral score at Abbey Road Studios in London. The soundtrack will be released digitally on October 28, 2016.

A thousand years ago, one boy with a dream of becoming a great warrior is abducted with his sister and taken to a land far away from home. Thrown into a world where greed and injustice rule all, Bilal finds the courage to raise his voice and make a change. Inspired by true events, this is a story of a real hero who earned his remembrance in time and history. The animated film is inspired by the true story of Bilal Ibn Rabah, a freed slave of Ethiopian origin who fought for equality and justice.  Bilal is directed by Ayman Jamal and Khurram Alavi and produced by Barajoun Entertainment.
From historical epics to courtroom drama to tales of the supernatural, Icelandic composer Atli Örvarsson has provided innovative scores to tell all of these stories. Atli’s talent, experience, versatility, and skill combined with his Icelandic roots has produced an individualized and compelling style that contributes to his success as a musician and composer. Atli’s credits include orchestrating and writing music for some of Hollywood’s biggest projects, including Angels and Demons, Iron Man, The Holiday and the Pirates of the Caribbean series. As a composer, Atli Örvarsson displays musical diversity throughout his action-film scores in The Eagle, Vantage Point, Babylon A.D., the Morgan Freeman caper Thick as Thieves, The Fourth Kind, and the Nicolas Cage medieval fantasy Season of the Witch.  Atli’s most recent credits include The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, the dark and edgy film Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters, the drama/thriller A Single Shot starring Sam Rockwell, the hit NBC series Chicago Fire and Chicago PD, and working with Hans Zimmer to contribute music to the Zack Snyder’s Superman reinstallment Man of Steel.
Originally from the small town of Akureyri, Atli Örvarsson became established in the local music scene at a young age.  He earned three platinum and two gold records as a member of the Icelandic band Salin hans Jóns mins before studying film composing at Berklee College of Music and the North Carolina School of the Arts. He excelled in composing and was awarded the Pete Carpenter Fellowship, which brought him to Los Angeles. He began working alongside TV veteran Mike Post on NYPD Blue and three Law and Order brands. Soon after that, Atli met composer Hans Zimmer, who extended an invitation to join his team at Remote Control Studios. Atli’s accolades include several ASCAP & BMI Film & TV Music Awards and he was nominated for the prestigious World Soundtrack Academy’s “Discovery of the Year Award” for his score for Babylon A.D.
1. Meet Bilal
2. City of Makkah
3. You Might Still Die
4. A Noble Man
5. Desert Falcon
6. The Stone
7. Bilal the Horseman
8. Hamza
9. Madina
10. Slave!
11. Meet Sohaib
12. Sand Hubal
13. Lord of Merchants
14. Makkah Burns
15. Inspire Mankind